Dreamstate-Healing Patchwerk

25-man raids haven’t been happening for me in the day or so since I specced Dreamstate-Resto, and I was starting to worry that I’d have nothing in particular to write about on shutdown night. Fortunately, with only an hour to go, the guild had enough on for a quick Naxx boss or two, and we headed in to take on 25-man Patchwerk. Clearing trash, I really had occasion to miss Wild Growth; seeing all that raid raid damage going around was painful, and it was hard to register against even nerfed CoG and WG. I found myself spamming Regrowth a lot (Rejuv just gets over-written; the reason I always skip on Replenish). If you want to be a competitive healer on trash, pretend you’re a shaman and put on all of your haste gear.

Nobody cares about trash, though; right? Who ever said to you “your boss healing’s great, but you’re just not pulling your weight on the trash”? Okay, so it happens, but they mean you’re going afk, not that you’re 20% behind the game. Seriously; don’t afk on the trash. It needs to be cleared, and it’s faster if all 25 people are doing it.

Patchwerk. The definitive healing test. Monstrous amounts of healing spread over three tanks. I sat there healing my little heart out. Every now and then I flicked my eyes towards recount, and saw myself down the bottom. Damn. Heal harder. Spam more Regrowth. Roll Lifebloom on all three tanks. Try to keep Rejuv up. Swiftmend on the CD. Pop trinkets. Still near the bottom. What’s Wrong? I know this spec is viable.

Okay, so the MT got ganked. Stack hots, take a moment to brez, moar hots, moar regrowth. Chaos. Still near the bottom of the meter.

Eventually, we missed the enrage timer (we didn’t even make it to 20 people in the raid, this wasn’t all that surprising). Tanks 1-shotted, dpsers 1-shotted, wipe, as expected. Out of time for tonight, let’s call the raid. Great, I think. I can find out what on earth is going on with my healing. Click the drop-down for fights to have a look at overall healing. Uh, Althura… You had recount showing a trash pull.

Yes, I didn’t notice the meters weren’t changing. I just flicked my eyes over every now and then, and saw my numbers sucking. I never twigged.

Okay, so how did I perform really on Patchwerk? Very well. Topped the meters nicely, pulled over 3k effective HPS (I didn’t have a chance to check out over-heal yet). Beat my other resto druid by about 200HPS. Beat the top shammy by a touch. Kicked Ass.

Oh, 5-mans. I went along on a heroic CoS run tonight too with my shiny new spec. It worked a treat, and I found myself able to pull upwards of 1k dps on some pulls while solo-healing as well. An extra 1k dps is quite handy in beating the timer, and if your tank has enough mitigation, and your dps are decent at avoiding damage, I could see numbers even higher coming up. I can even see myself pugging normal 70 instances and beating some of the lamer dpsers. The fact that the balance SP bonuses work out of tree form is nice.

I’ll keep you up to date on my impressions of this DS-Resto build. My current impression is that it out-performs Wild Growth balance/resto builds in just about all situations. As I get more experience, I’ll keep you up to date. I think this may be a long-term spec for me. In the meantime,

Happy Druiding,

Althura.

12 Comments

  1. Justin said,

    January 27, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Thanks for trying out dreamstate for all the other Trees out there; I look forward to more updates. I was curious what you were doing for DPS though? I’ve tried tossing in some dps on normal dungeon runs, but i’m sure i was never near 1k.

    • althura said,

      January 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

      Moonfire and wrath spam when we had only one or two mobs, and a good old fashioned Hurricane on AoE packs. Make sure your hots are stacked nice and high before you go channeling Hurricane though, or you’ll have to cancel and get back to healing before you get any mileage out of it. Oh, and you’ll need to take a tank with decent mitigation, and dps who know how to stay out of trouble, or you get stuck healing too much.

  2. Arnen said,

    January 27, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    good to know we have another available build to play with.
    What were your rotation? i’d like to try it and see how it goes.

    • althura said,

      January 27, 2009 at 8:48 pm

      My rotation didn’t really change much from resto, except that WG was out. I tended to pop rejuv or LB on anyone with very light damage, and use regrowth to top up bigger chunks of raid damage.

      As far as tanks, LB, Regrowth, LB to 3, Rejuv, and then keep LB and Rejuv up while spamming Regrowth in my spare time. Adjust as necessary for multiple tanks. I try to ensure that each tank gets an early direct heal (not necessarily from me), because I’ve seen far too many tanks die while healers were still stacking hots.

  3. Arnen said,

    January 28, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    i tried this yesterday and it’s a really nice spec. I feel i’m an old bc resto druid XD.

  4. althura said,

    January 28, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Regarding the 1k+ dps, this shows up on AoE packs. Single-target I see something closer to 450dps, sometimes a little higher (if LBx3 is enough), sometimes nearly 0 (when the pull is messy and I spend time healing the party).

  5. Marc said,

    January 29, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I tried out dreamstate last night and loved the mana, it made most of the bosses much more fun and definitely upped my numbers, but found that loathab was a little challenging and while we didn’t get to malygos that night, it seems that raid healing for the 10-man would be almost impossible without a 3rd healer.

    • althura said,

      January 29, 2009 at 9:29 pm

      I’ve always gone into 10-man Malygos with three healers. With a reasonable group, I can usually manage to hit around 40% of the total effective healing. Keeping in mind that some of my healing would have been over-written, one healer hitting better than 50% should be possible, and so at Naxx gear levels, I’d say it should be possible to heal with only two.

      That said, I can imagine there’d be very little room for error, and you might end up just wipe-festing trying to get that perfect healing run.

  6. February 7, 2009 at 5:28 am

    [...] continues her Dreamstate Resto build experiment and reports back on her latest Naxx run. So far she feels it outperforms the more popular 11/0/60 standard raid Druid Resto [...]

  7. Keith said,

    February 14, 2009 at 2:04 am

    OK, so as a 79, I haven’ even picked up WG yet, because I found Gift of the Earth Mother to be a better fit – I’d rather be able to stack my HoTs faster than unleash WG now and again. As such, I’m 11/0/59. My major questions are: how are your bonus heals affected without all the points in Improved ToL? , and isn’t your rotation pretty much going to be exactly the same, with lower heals and more mana regen?

    Finally, in an unrelated topic, what kind of bonus heals should I be looking for in ToL to enter Heroics?

    Thanks again — I love this blog, btw.

    Bearkat, kil’jaeden server, U.S.

  8. sokks said,

    April 7, 2009 at 1:49 am

    I think that would be true, if you didn’t get the one that also gives int to spellpower, that int to spellpower (forget it’s name, it’s above dreamstate somewhere…lunar guidance?) definitely offsets the one point -not- in imp. ToL. In a related note I think I changed some of the wrath points used in this dreamstate spec to brambles, mostly to help the tank threat cause they like their thorns, and my survivability (stun on barkskin = ee run away!)

    And I think I started heroics with like 1300 +sp but I’m also a PvE discipline priest, I tend to add 100-200 more spellpower for other classes so I’d recommend 1500 but, I’m also anal about making sure I stay enchanted and things.

  9. althura said,

    April 8, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Wow, slack me. Sorry for taking forever.

    @Keith, you’re probably there by now, and it’s been a while since I started doing heroics, but thankfully I have the set I walked into heroics with… My sunwell raiding gear :) Somewhere around 1300SP, but it was hurting. I’d say 1.5k would be more comfortable.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

